Learn from the Turtle

20160628_185813-1.jpg

A turtle. A symbol. A laughing stock.

Believe it or not, this is meant to be a stuffed toy turtle. He’s about 25 years old and a symbol of all that is wrong with my sewing at the moment.

I’ve been in a bit of a sewing slump at the moment. Not that I haven’t been sewing, I have been (apart from a two-week hiatus that felt like a year). I’ve been trying to make things for myself and it’s been going wrong. So I made another dress for Hazel and that went wrong.

stripe bad overlocking

This is just one example of the plethora of mishaps.

I was starting to lose my sewing mojo. Stop with sewing jersey for a bit, I thought and I make myself a super simple cotton dress. Nope, that didn’t work.

Then it struck me. I had a case of the turtles.

When I was younger, at primary school, I went through a phase of “making” soft toys. I loved those kits where everything was already cut out. This is where I got the turtle. (His relatives are probably still available in Hobbycraft). The trouble is, I could NEVER take on one of these projects and work my way through it slowly. I always rushed through from start to finish disregarding all thoughts of quality and finish. I had to sew it in a day! I remember sewing a cat together in the fading light in the conservatory. I probably sat there for hours sewing away, great for my mum I suppose. This was all in a time before my first games console the SEGA Master System II. Then I spent hours on Alex Kidd – I never did complete that.

You can see the quality  of my craftsmanship here20160628_185821-1 in his gaping neck hole. What’s hard to see is that in my haste, I sewed his head on upside-down! His neck/back was sewn together at some stage, but his stitches must have gone over the years. Or in transit – he has lived in Ireland for a while as a symbol of hilarity in my sister’s house. He’s now stapled to the inside of my bits and bobs box and he looks after my spare needles.

So,  I think what has gone wrong for me is I have slipped back into my 9-year-old ways of “get it done in a day!” Which is ridiculous as I only ever have 2 hours until I’m needed to reach the snack shelf again for Hazel.

I pledge, I am going back to basics. Taking my time. Then slowing down even more. I’m turning to Tilly and the Buttons for support and I am starting with a Bettine dress.

 

One thought on “Learn from the Turtle

Leave a Reply

